Reviewed 2026-10-12 · facts from Zoho Books's own site
Billing Software by Betterwork vs Zoho Books
Zoho Books is full cloud accounting software: ledgers, banking, GST returns and invoicing, priced per organisation from a free plan (revenue under ₹25 lakh) to ₹7,999/month. Billing Software by Betterwork is billing-first: faster invoicing, WhatsApp collection, industry templates and a CA login, with exports your accountant can post into Zoho Books or Tally. Many businesses bill in Betterwork and keep books with their CA.
Last reviewed:
Betterwork vs Zoho Books: feature-by-feature
| Criteria | Billing Software by Betterwork | Zoho Books (per Zoho Books's site) |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | Web app on any phone, tablet or computer; nothing to install | Browser-based cloud; "Dedicated iOS and Android applications"; Windows desktop app listed |
| Where your data lives | Cloud, encrypted, backed up daily; works from any device | Zoho cloud |
| Pricing model | Quote by users, branches and modules, in INR, AED, USD or GBP; free trial and 14-day money-back | Free plan (revenue under ₹25 lakh/year, 1 user + 1 accountant, up to 1,000 invoices/year); Standard ₹749/month billed annually (₹899 monthly), 3 users, up to 5,000 invoices/year; up to Ultimate ₹7,999/month; prices exclusive of taxes; 14-day trial |
| India GST, e-invoice, e-way bill | CGST/SGST/IGST, HSN/SAC per item, e-invoice (IRN + QR) and e-way bill data | E-invoicing from Standard ("Manage e-invoices and payments"); GST returns; e-way bill not stated on the pricing page |
| UAE VAT / UK VAT / US sales tax | UAE 5% VAT with TRN and bilingual Arabic-English invoices; UK VAT; US sales tax | Separate Zoho Books editions exist for UAE, UK and US (each a separate organisation/subscription) |
| WhatsApp invoicing | Invoice PDF + payment link on WhatsApp; reminders and receipts on WhatsApp | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Payment reminders | Automatic before/after due date, stopped on payment; ageing and credit limits | Automated payment reminders (accounting feature) |
| Multi-currency | Any currency with the tax amount shown in local currency where required | Multi-currency transactions supported in paid plans |
| Invoice customisation | Logo, colours, columns, custom fields, bilingual; separate templates per document | Invoice templates and customisation |
| Inventory | Stock, batch, expiry, serial/IMEI, units (metre, coil, box), multi-godown | "Track inventory" from Free; "Advanced Inventory Control" from Elite |
| CA / accountant access | Separate CA login (view-only or edit), activity log, GSTR-1/VAT exports | 1 accountant seat included on every plan |
| Setup and onboarding | Live 30-minute onboarding: template built, items and customers imported with you | Self-serve; documentation and partner network |
| AI assistance | AI drafts invoices from a sentence, predicts late payers, suggests reorders | Zia assistant (Zoho-wide); details not stated on the pricing page |
Sources: Zoho Books India pricing. Competitor information reviewed 2026-10-12; vendors change plans and features, so verify on their site. Zoho Books is a trademark of its owner; no endorsement is implied.
Choose Zoho Books if
- You need full double-entry accounting, bank feeds and GST return filing in one product
- Your revenue is under ₹25 lakh and the free plan covers you
- Your CA already works inside Zoho Books
Choose Betterwork if
- You mainly need fast billing, quotations, stock and collections, not full books
- You bill from the counter or job site on a phone and share on WhatsApp
- You want one account for India plus UAE/UK/US invoicing instead of separate editions
- You want a template and data import done for you on a call
Betterwork vs Zoho Books: FAQ
Is Betterwork a Zoho Invoice alternative too?
Yes. Zoho Invoice is Zoho's invoicing-only product; Betterwork covers the same invoicing, quotes, reminders and multi-currency needs and adds GST e-invoicing, WhatsApp delivery, industry templates and assisted setup.
Is Betterwork a replacement for Zoho Books?
For billing, yes; for full accounting, no. Betterwork replaces the invoicing, quotation, reminder and stock side; your accountant can import the sales register into Zoho Books, Tally or any accounting software.
How much does Zoho Books cost in India?
As of October 2026 Zoho's pricing page lists a Free plan, Standard at ₹749/month billed annually (₹899 monthly) and higher tiers up to ₹7,999/month, exclusive of taxes. Check the pricing page for current figures.
Can Betterwork export to Zoho Books?
Yes. Export sales, receipts and credit notes to Excel/CSV in a format your accountant can import into Zoho Books.