Reviewed 2026-10-12 · facts from Refrens's own site
Billing Software by Betterwork vs Refrens
Refrens is a web and mobile invoicing and accounting platform with a free plan and paid tiers from Lite (listed at ₹8,900 for a year, excluding GST) to Enterprise, where e-invoicing and e-way bills start from the Plus tier. Billing Software by Betterwork includes GST e-invoicing, e-way bill data, UAE VAT and multi-currency in every setup, adds industry templates and AI drafting, and is configured for you on a live call.
Last reviewed:
Betterwork vs Refrens: feature-by-feature
| Criteria | Billing Software by Betterwork | Refrens (per Refrens's site) |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | Web app on any phone, tablet or computer; nothing to install | "Web App" and "Mobile App (Android/iOS)" on all plans |
| Where your data lives | Cloud, encrypted, backed up daily; works from any device | Refrens cloud |
| Pricing model | Quote by users, branches and modules, in INR, AED, USD or GBP; free trial and 14-day money-back | Free plan; Lite ₹8,900, Plus ₹16,900, Pro ₹30,900, Enterprise ₹44,900 (yearly totals shown, exclusive of GST; 3-month and 3-year options also shown) |
| India GST, e-invoice, e-way bill | CGST/SGST/IGST, HSN/SAC per item, e-invoice (IRN + QR) and e-way bill data | E-invoices and bulk IRN generation and e-way bills on Plus, Pro and Enterprise; Lite lists invoice/e-invoice APIs as additionally chargeable |
| UAE VAT / UK VAT / US sales tax | UAE 5% VAT with TRN and bilingual Arabic-English invoices; UK VAT; US sales tax | Multi-currency on all plans; UAE VAT formats not stated |
| WhatsApp invoicing | Invoice PDF + payment link on WhatsApp; reminders and receipts on WhatsApp | "WhatsApp Sharing" on all plans; "WhatsApp Alerts" from Plus |
| Payment reminders | Automatic before/after due date, stopped on payment; ageing and credit limits | Payment reminders; WhatsApp alerts from Plus |
| Multi-currency | Any currency with the tax amount shown in local currency where required | "Multi-Currency Support" with "Auto-Exchange Rates" on all plans |
| Invoice customisation | Logo, colours, columns, custom fields, bilingual; separate templates per document | Multiple invoice templates with branding |
| Inventory | Stock, batch, expiry, serial/IMEI, units (metre, coil, box), multi-godown | Inventory on paid plans |
| CA / accountant access | Separate CA login (view-only or edit), activity log, GSTR-1/VAT exports | Roles and permissions (basic on Lite, advanced from Plus); separate "Refrens for CAs" product |
| Setup and onboarding | Live 30-minute onboarding: template built, items and customers imported with you | Self-serve sign-up |
| AI assistance | AI drafts invoices from a sentence, predicts late payers, suggests reorders | Not stated on the premium page |
Sources: Refrens Premium pricing. Competitor information reviewed 2026-10-12; vendors change plans and features, so verify on their site. Refrens is a trademark of its owner; no endorsement is implied.
Choose Refrens if
- You want a free plan to start and upgrade later
- You are a freelancer or agency invoicing mostly online with multi-currency from day one
Choose Betterwork if
- You want e-invoicing and e-way bill data without choosing a tier
- You bill from a shop counter with barcodes, batches or units like metres and coils
- You want UAE VAT invoices with TRN and Arabic text
- You want onboarding done with you rather than self-serve
Betterwork vs Refrens: FAQ
How much does Refrens cost?
As of October 2026 Refrens' premium page shows yearly totals of ₹8,900 (Lite), ₹16,900 (Plus), ₹30,900 (Pro) and ₹44,900 (Enterprise), excluding GST, plus a free plan. Check the page for current figures.
Which plan of Refrens includes e-invoicing?
Per Refrens' premium page, e-invoices and bulk IRN generation are listed on Plus, Pro and Enterprise; Lite lists e-invoice APIs as additionally chargeable. Betterwork includes e-invoicing in every setup.